Date: 20th April 2017 at 9:00pm
Written by:

Newcastle have had three players named in the PFA Championship Team of the Year. Magpies captain Jamaal Lascelles, midfield playmaker Jonjo Shelvey and striker Dwight Gayle were voted into the eleven by their fellow professionals.

Championship league leaders Brighton & Hove Albion had four players named in the team with goalkeeper David Stockdale, right back Bruno, centre half Lewis Dunk and winger Anthony Knockaert all getting the nod.

Leeds striker, and Championship top goalscorer Chris Wood, Fulham’s teen sensation Ryan Sessegnon and Newcastle target Tom Cairney make up the rest of the team.

One surprise exclusion could be Ciaran Clark, but with Brighton having conceded the fewest goals (36) in the Championship alongside Newcastle this season, it is unsurprising Lewis Dunk was named in the eleven after an excellent campaign.

Some Newcastle fans may question PFA members selecting Lascelles over Clark though, but votes for the team would have been taken back in March so recent displays by the Magpies captain would not have been taken into account.